Portrait painting: Alice and Lloyd

IMG_0257

‘Aliss and Loid’ Acrylics on canvas, by Osian Grifford

I was commissioned in december to do a painting of my friends Alice and Lloyd. I based this one of a photo of them from Facebook, because the commission was a surprise Christmas gift from Alice to Lloyd. As it’ a romantic gift, I avoided using any black and I think that has worked to give the painting a celebratory look.

The colours of the clothing and style of the light I think shows my appreciation for super-hero comic book glamour. Removing harsh black outlines and shadows from my portrait making for a bit might help make my pictures more suitable for commissioned portraits in the future if people wanted an affectionate depiction of someone they knew.

Leave a Reply

