God said to Abraham “Kill me a son”.

scan-9

This is a cartoon that I did in my tiniest of sketchbook in Berlin a few years ago. It was in response to an impressive, atmospheric, and emotionally heavy Peter Greenaway and Saskia Boddeke instillation inside the Jewish Museum, Berlin. The instillation was titled ‘Obedience’.

The purpose of the whole trip was to ¬†inspire art projects, and although this was the most affecting of all the art and happenings that I experienced whilst there, it was not one that I could respond to in any kind of way that I felt was a real answer to what i’d experienced there. The main emotion I think i felt in response to the instillation was anger and disgust. Anger and disgust against human capacity to be hurtful and spiteful whilst so easily attaching our most vulgar instincts to pride, grandiose symbolism, and higher meanings.

I left the museum feeling very emotionally tired.

I think I must have drawn this in my tiny sketchbook on the U-Bahn or at a cafe the next day. I look at it as a very dry cartoon warping the story of Abraham into a minor socially awkward converstation between himself and God. In the cartoon God has better things to do than to tell people to murder their children. It is only hideously flawed people that would want a God that asked that of them.

I upload this today because a few months ago my rucksack was stolen on a Tuesday night in Cardiff. In it were three sketchbooks, filled with drawings that I never scanned or photographed. All skechbooks have my full name written on them and there were also a number of my business cards in the bag so It’s my hope that it will one day make it back to me but until then; finding this scan (on my old laptop) of one of my lost tiny cartoons made me want to stick it on the internet for safe keepings.

 

Leave a Reply

